Brain & Spinal Injury

Welcome to the Brain & Spinal Injury Section

The field of brain injury treatment can benefit greatly from the unique set of skills that an ABA practitioner brings to the treatment center.

Certified Brain Injury Specialist (CBIS)

The Brain Injury Association of America (BIAA) has established the American Academy for the Certification of Brain Injury Specialists (AACBIS) to develop core competency standards for persons working the people with acquired brain injuries. These standards were developed in conjunction with job evaluations and employer needs to augment staff training. AACBIS certifies brain injury specialists (CBIS) and persons who are qualified to train the specialists as certified brain injury specialist trainers (CBIST).

There are eight core competency areas: Overview of Brain Injury; Philosophy of Rehabilitation; Understanding the Brain and Brain Injury; Health, Medications and Medical Management; Understanding and Treating the Functional Impacts of Brain Injury; Children and Adolescents with Brain Injuries; Family Perspectives; and Legal and Ethical issues. Together these competencies provide caregivers a unique understanding of the population they serve.

Call BIAA or check their web site or the AACBIS web site (Certified Brain Injury Specialists by state) or call BIAA (703) 761-0750 to find a CBIS in your area.

Lash, M., Braunling-McMorrow, D., Tyler, J., & Antoinette, T. (Editors) (2004). Training Manual for Certified Brain Injury Specialists CBIS, Third Edition, American Academy for the Certification of Brain Injury Specialists.


Learning Services

Craig Hospital

American Congress of Rehabilitation Medicine (ACRM)

International Brain Injury Association (IBIA)

Brain Injury Alliance of America (BIA)

North American Brain Injury Society (NABIS)

Brain Injury Association of America